Module 1

The Sawmi sees the
Fourth Way as a technique
for attaining
liberation and enlightenment.

The brief outline that follows presents a Fourth Way perspective
on two basic questions:

How are we bound
to this particular level of experience that we call everyday life?

How can we liberate ourselves
from our enthrallment with everyday life so that we can more fully experience the spiritual possibilities available to us?

Back to Enneagram
Module One
Module Two
"Basic Concepts"

Module Three
"Deviations and Notes on Work Terminology"

Module Four
"The Enneagram"

Module Five
"Beyond the System"

"What is below is like
that which is above, and what is above is like that which is below,to accomplish the miracles of one thing."

from The Emerald Tablet of Hermes Trismegistus


1. The number 48 or "H48" is sometimes used in The Work as a shorthand notation for our ordinary experience, or everyday life. Think of this number as symbolizing a certain "density" or "wavelength" corresponding to this level of experience or awareness.

Higher levels of experience are conceptualized as being more active or energetic, or as having a shorter wavelength. They are represented by smaller numbers such as H24 or H12. These numbers are not completely arbitrary, but they have no "magical" significance.

Please refer to Ouspensky's In Search of the Miraculous or especially John Lilly's The Center of the Cyclone for a more detailed description.

2. In the explanations that follow, a musical scale is used as an analogy to describe the relationships between lower and higher levels of experience, which are compared to lower and higher musical octaves. Please keep in mind that this is only a simplified, one dimensional representation used to facilitate discussion of actual phenomena in our own experience that are multi-dimensional and very complex.

 DIAGRAM 1. Ourselves as we ARE and as we COULD BE

DIAGRAM 1 represents
the person and his or her possibilities for spiritual development within the limitations of a physical body.

Movement from lower left to upper right on DIAGRAM 1 represents movement from lower to higher levels of being.The analogy of the musical scale or octave is used throughout this primer.

Please keep in mind that DIAGRAM 1 and the other diagrams that follow are only simplified visual aids to help you conceptualize certain processes hypothesized to operate in our human experience. Real insight into these processes comes through actual work on oneself, not through study of the diagrams!

Click graphic for full size.
AT THE LEFT is a vertical line representing a lower, unconscious (or "less conscious") octave symbolizing experience associated with our physical body and everyday life.
This level of experience is sometimes called H48 in The Work.
An intermediate octave, roughly corresponding to our emotions, is represented by the vertical line in the middle of DIAGRAM 1.
This level of experience can be referred to H24.
AT THE RIGHT is a vertical line representing a higher, more conscious, octave which can be experienced through the work.
Shorthand notation for this level of experience is H12.

[Back to Enneagram ] [Review Module One]

Module 1 Questions:

Take a few minutes to check your interpretation of the Sawmi's Fourth Way Introduction above.This should help you with Module Two, where the Sawmi introduces some basic Fourth Way concepts.

Please answer these questions thoughtfully and seriously, and click on submit to compare your answers with the Sawmi's.

Question 1. What are the Sawmi's goals in his practice of the Fourth Way?

Question 2. What are the questions the Sawmi is trying to answer in this primer?

Question 3. Do the numbers H48, H24, etc. have any mystical significance?

Question 4. Does the musical scale analogy often used in The Work, and used in this primer, provide hard, scientific answers to the questions the Sawmi is addressing?

Question 5. Is DIAGRAM 1 a completely accurate picture of the human condition and the stages in The Work?

Please provide a valid email address.


[Back to Enneagram ] [Review Module One]

© The Starving Sawmi Press, August 1, 1998